National Poetry Day

Happy National Poetry Day!! For those of you who don’t know, I absolutely love poetry. I read it all the time and even write poems (although I rarely show them to other people). In honor of National Poetry Day, I thought I would share with you some of my favorite poets & poems.

Erin Hanson: is probably my all time favorite poet. She is a 21 year old writer from Australia. She writes deep, moving poems. Here are some links where you can find her works:

http://thepoeticunderground.com/

https://www.instagram.com/thepoeticunderground/?hl=en

Megan McEuen: Megan is one of my personal friends. She loves poetry as well and has a twitter and tumblr where she posts haikus. She is very talented and I highly suggest you check out her work:

http://haikulizard.tumblr.com/

IMG_7166I own a really old book titled, “A Selection From The Great English Poets” by Sherwin Cody, and it has some amazing poems in it. This book helped me discover my love for Shakespearean Sonnets. Some of my favorite sonnets are pictured here:

FullSizeRender (5)FullSizeRender (3)FullSizeRender (4)

If you are looking for a longer, story style poem, I highly recommend “Adonias” by Percy Bysshe Shelley. He also has a great poem titled, “The Cloud“. My favorite poem by him is titled, “Love’s Philosophy”

FullSizeRender

I’ve just recently read some poems by William Blake. A poem I really enjoyed is called “Song1” FullSizeRender (1)

Of course there are so many more poems and poets I love, however these are the ones i chose to highlight in this post. I hope you enjoyed it! I have a Pinterest board where I pin poems i find and love. I have another Pinterest board just for Erin Hanson poetry. If you have any favorite poems or poets you think I might like, feel free to share! Thanks so much for reading!

-Madison

Leave a Reply

