How I Came To Know God Was Calling Me to Ministry

Looking back, I can really see how God was influencing me from a very young age to pursue ministry. However, I didn’t know what that meant at the time or what it would look like. I was that eight year old that would set up her American Girl dolls and would preach sermons to them and would hold Bible studies for them and my stuffed animals. I’d like to clarify and say that I think everyone is called to ministry in some way and that your life is in fact a ministry. When I am talking about ministry in this post, I am referring to a pastoral ministry.

The day I turned thirteen years old I went to my mom sobbing. My reason? I didn’t want to be a teenager. I laugh about it now, but I was so scared of being a teenager because growing up, the only way I heard adults talk about teenagers was negative. “Teens are disrespectful.” “They are selfish and don’t care about anyone else.” “Teenagers don’t take God seriously.” “They are rebellious and lazy.” This is what I had heard about teenagers and it was NOT what I wanted to become. A few months later, I attended a talk about being strong for the Lord in your youth and teen years. I realized it is possible for me to have a strong relationship with God and to pursue holiness as a teenager. I wanted to share that message to teenagers and to help them understand God and grow in Him. However, I had never even seen a female youth pastor at that time so the thought that I could be one never even crossed my mind.

Not too long after that I began dealing with chronic pain and depression. You can find a more detailed story HERE. It was during that time I had several youth pastors on our church district come up and say encouraging things to me and pray with me. Keep in mind, they had no idea what I was going through, yet they helped me get through one of the hardest times of my life. I had also begun to see female youth pastors and even female senior pastors and the thought that I could be a pastor started to become a reality. After I had surgeries and began to reflect more on what God had done in my life, all these things seemed to connect and make sense. I heard God saying what He had been saying for a long time, that I was to be a pastor. My specific calling is to be a youth pastor and be in youth ministry. I believe youth ministry is vitally important and will probably make a separate post on why soon.

Since I accepted my call, I have been preparing in several different ways for my future. I have been studying and learning. I have been talking to my pastors at church and have even led youth group and will be leading Bible studies for the adult group soon. I will be attending SNU this next fall and will be majoring in Theology/Pastoral Ministry.. I know it won’t be an easy road, but I am super excited about the future and all that God is going to do. If you think God might be calling you into some form of ministry, my advice is: to pray a lot, talk to your pastor or a trusted mentor, and listen for God and what He is trying to tell you.

“But my life is worth nothing to me unless I use it for finishing the work assigned me by the Lord Jesus—the work of telling others the Good News about the wonderful grace of God.” {Acts 20:24}

Leave a Reply

